Quick Links
Printable Version

WHSCC announces educator of year and student safety contest winners
Thursday, December 8, 2011

ST. JOHN’S – The Workplace Health, Safety and Compensation Commission (the Commission) is pleased to announce the winners of the 2011 Health and Safety Educator of the Year Award and 2011 Student Safety Video/Radio Ad contest.  

Mr. Fraser Drover, Vice Principal of Menihek High School in Labrador City is the winner of the Commission’s inaugural Health and Safety Educator Award, presented this evening at the Menihek High Academic Awards Ceremony. Mr. Drover has helped create a stronger culture of health and safety in this province through his tireless work in promoting health and safety programs and courses at Menihek High School, recruitment of motivational health and safety speakers and work with other community organizations to improve workplace health and safety.   

Along with the award, Mr. Drover receives health and safety equipment for the school and a cash prize of $500.  

The Commission is now accepting nominations for the 2012 Educator of the Year Award.  

Winners of the 2011 Student Safety Video/Radio Ad contest are Sonali Verma (video) from Stephenville High School and William and Jillian Forsey (radio), also from Stephenville High School.  The student awards and prizes were presented by Port au Port MHA Tony Cornect at a special ceremony at Stephenville High this afternoon.  

The Student Safety Video/Radio Ad contest is part of the Commission’s commitment to transforming attitudes and behaviors related to workplace safety for young workers across the province. The 2012 contest is now open and features $2,000 in cash and prizes for winning students and their schools. Contest details can be found at www.safeworknl.com.

Serving over 17,500 employers and approximately 12,000 injured workers, the Commission is an employer-funded, no fault insurance system that promotes safe and healthy workplaces, provides return-to-work programs and offers fair compensation to injured workers and their dependants.   

Chris Flanagan, Director of Communications
Telephone: 709-778-1590 or 709-728-7869   

Workplace Health, Safety and Compensation Commission
146-148 Forest Road • St. John’s • NL • A1A 3B8
Telephone (709) 778-1000 •1-800-563-9000

<< back