Quick Links
Printable Version

O’Donel High School teacher named 2013 Health and Safety Educator of the Year
Thursday, February 27, 2014

Joe Santos of O’Donel High School in Mount Pearl is the Workplace Health, Safety and Compensation Commission’s Health and Safety Educator of the Year.  Making the presentation is Commission CEO Leslie Galway.

St. John’s Mr. Joe Santos, Teacher, O’Donel High School in Mt. Pearl, has been selected as the 2013 Health and Safety Educator of the Year for his efforts in engaging students in numerous health and safety activities. Mr. Santos is the third recipient of this award given each year by the Workplace Health Safety and Compensation Commission (the Commission).

Mr. Santos created a First Responders Team at O’Donel in 2010, which has now grown to capacity. He was the first in the province to purchase an automated external defibrillator (AED) for his school, and trained staff on its proper use. In addition to teaching first-aid to students, Mr. Santos also provides first-aid in-services for other teachers throughout the Eastern region.

Having brought the Workplace Safety 3220 course to O’Donel High School, he makes it very relevant for students. He has organized survivors of workplace injuries as guest speakers, and visits to the Offshore Safety and Survival Centre as well as the College of the North Atlantic for practical lessons in working safety in the skilled trades.

“I congratulate Mr. Santos for recognizing the importance of engaging our youth in safe work practices,” said Leslie Galway, Commission CEO. “Positive influences and real-life experiences now help to foster a culture of safety in the workplace for the next generation of workers in Newfoundland and Labrador.”

Mr. Santos will receive a plaque and cash prize of $500. O’Donel High School will receive $500 to purchase safety equipment.

The Commission would like to acknowledge and thank all nominees for this year’s award and encourage everyone to nominate a health and safety conscious educator for the 2014 award.

In addition to the Health and Safety Educator of the Year Award, the Commission supports many youth-oriented programs to promote awareness of workplace health and safety. Other initiatives include SAFE Work NL’s Who Wants to Save a Life? game show, the high school course Workplace Safety 3220, as well as the annual safety video and radio contest for students.

Serving approximately 12,000 injured workers and more than 19,000 employers, the Commission is an employer-funded, no fault insurance system that promotes safe and healthy workplaces, provides return-to-work programs and offers fair compensation to injured workers and their dependents. 



Carla Riggs
Director of Communications
Workplace Health, Safety and Compensation Commission
709-778-1590, 709-728-7869 or 1-800-563-9000

<< back