Quick Links
Health and Safety Educator Award



The Health and Safety Educator Award is awarded annually to an educator who has demonstrated a commitment to promoting and advancing young worker health and safety.


The teacher or administrator is someone who:

  • Demonstrates a commitment to creating a culture of safety for Newfoundland and Labrador youth
  • Directly promotes health and safety when instructing students
  • Uses external speakers, employers and other organizations or individuals with health and safety expertise to advocate health and safety for youth
  • Takes an active role in being a strong advocate of health and safety for youth and others within the school and leads by example

Nomination Process

  • Nominations will be accepted from the Department of Education, school districts, peers, students and WorkplaceNL.

Health and Safety Educators

2014 - Mr. Brian Hancock, Indian River High School

2013 - Mr. Joe Santos, O’Donel High School

2012 - Mr. Robert Smith, Bishops College

2011 - Mr. Fraser Drover, Menihek High School